MOVING IN/ON Iva Lane, director of information and advocacy for the Chicago Panel on School Policy, is now the director of the Austin Evening Alternative High School. … Molly A. Carroll, assistant director of the Chicago Teachers Union Quest Center, has been appointed to the board of the National Association for Year-Round Education.

IN THE FIELD A business manager has been appointed to each region to assist with and monitor school and regional budgets. Region 1, Jodilyn Marron of the CPS budget office; Region 2, Jorge Perez, an interal audit supervisor; Region 3, Lydia Nantwi, principal of Woodland Elementary in south suburban Hazel Crest; Region 4, Jay Swanson assistant principal of Juarez High; Region 5, Keith Barrett, formerly a CPS financial analyst; Region 6, Maxey Bacchus, of the CPS bureau of contracts.

CULTURE TASK FORCE Diane Chandler, previously director of resources for Muntu Dance Theater, has been named interim director of cultural arts education. A permanent director will be announced in six months. Maggie Daley, the wife of Mayor Daley, and Lois Weisberg, the city’s commissioner of cultural affairs, will co-chair a new Cultural Education Task Force to recommend a new vision and systemwide implementation strategy for arts education.

Other members are: Diane Grisby Jackson, assistant to chief executive officer Paul Vallas; Amina Dickerson, director of education, Chicago Historical Society; Judy Bundra, music education professor, DePaul University; Michael Warr, executive director, The Guild Complex; Deidre Dawson, dancer instructor, Sullivan High; Rudy Joan Lubov, principal Bateman Elementary; Gladys Vascarezza, principal, Blaine Elementary; Delores Cross, president, Chicago State University; Abena Joan Brown, president, ETA Creative Arts Foundation; Ronnie Hartfield, executive director, museum education, The Art Institute; E.W. Ross, dean of continuing studies, School of the Art Institute; Nadine Saitlin, executive director, Illinois Alliance for Arts Education; William Russo, director of contemporary American music; Columbia College; Janis Todd, principal, Lincoln Park High; Linda Ford, principal, Brownell Elementary; John Duff, president, Columbia College; Cheryl Yuen, consultant; Rita Simo, executive director, People’s Music School.

LSC ELECTION GRANTS Sixteen community-based organizations have received grants ranging from $5,000 to $15,000 to recruit and train LSC candidates and promote voter turnout; 25 organizations applied. AT&T is the major funder. Winners are: Access Living, ASPIRA, Bethel New Life, Beverly Area Planning Association, Center for Community and Leadership Development, Centers for New Horizons, Chinese American Service League, Edgewater Community Council, Kenwood Oakland Community Organization, Logan Square Community Organization, North River Commission, Parents United for Responsible Education, Pilsen Neighbors Community Council, South West Community Congress, United Neighborhood Organization, WSCORP Communiversity.

AWARD WINNER Shelia Schlaggar, principal of Edison Regional Gifted Center, is this year’s winner of the Geiger Exemplary Elementary Principal Award, given by the CIBA corporation to principals who demonstrate leadership in developing, implementing and maintaining an outstanding elementary science program.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.