LSC ELECTIONS March 9 is the deadline for nominations for local school council elections. Nomination forms are available at schools, regional offices, libraries and central office. LSC elections will be held on April 8 at elementary schools and April 9 at high schools. For more information, call School and Community Relations, (773) 535-5966.

AT PERSHING ROAD Joyce Bristow, formerly principal at Black Magnet, has been named executive assistant to Chief Education Officer Cozette Buckney. … Robert Hall, an associate attorney in the Law Department, has been named first assistant attorney. … West Side activist Coretta McFerren has become a consultant to the Parents As Teachers First program.

PRINCIPALS The following principals have retired: Carolyn McGehee, Curtis; Joe Bankhead, Medill Intermediate and Upper Grade; Edwin Scott, Fort Dearborn; Peggy Little, Trumbull; and Winifred French, Reavis. … Mary Reardon Ravid, formerly assistant principal at Peterson, has been selected as principal of O.A. Thorp Scholastic Academy. … Vinita Scott, assistant principal at Burr, has been appointed interim principal at Burr.

GOLDEN APPLE SCHOLARS Nine seniors in Chicago public schools are among 61 chosen statewide this year for the Golden Apple Scholars program, which provides a variety of assistance to students who plan to teach in Illinois. The group also includes seven seniors from parochial schools in Chicago. All will be honored at a March 20 reception at Navy Pier. Nominations for selection next year will be accepted through July 31. For more information, call Tim Lemberger, (312) 407-0006, ext. 120.

PARENT INVOLVEMENT The Chicago Panel on School Policy is sponsoring its fourth Parent Involvement Forum from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. March 14 at the West Side Technical Institute, 2800 S. Western. The forum will feature workshops on such topics as effective school governance, parents and high school students, and models for improved education and parent participation. The registration fee is $20. For more information, call the Chicago Panel, (312) 346-2202.

CTU BID Thomas Reece, president of the Chicago Teachers Union, has made it official: He will run for a third full term. His slate includes Vice President Norma White, Recording Secretary Pamelyn Massarsky, Financial Secretary Michael Williams and Treasurer Melvin Wilson. The election will be held May 15. Earlier, teacher Deborah Walsh announced she would challenge Reece again.

NEW NEWSLETTER The Chicago Annenberg Challenge is launching School Works, a compilation of essays from teachers and principals in Annenberg network schools. It will be published three times a year, with each issue centering on a theme relevant to school reform, such as technology in the classroom and what it takes to support good teaching. Essays should be no more than 700 words, typed and double-spaced. Writers will receive a $500 stipend. For more information, call Chryssa Atkinson or Catherine Cristofani, (312) 413-0307.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.