MOVING IN/ON Bill Utter has been named to the new post of general manager of CPS-TV. Formerly assistant to Mayor Richard M. Daley and before that assistant manager of WBBM-TV, Utter will oversee television production at CPS and re-evaluate the district’s programming on public access Channel 21. … Mary Sue Barrett, chief of staff for the School Reform Board of Trustees and formerly policy chief for the mayor, has left the school system to serve as president of the Metropolitan Planning Council. … Vanessa Fraction, a junior and student member of the Harper High School LSC, has been named the student member of the Reform Board.

PRINCIPALS The following interim and acting principals have received principal contracts: Joe L. Bankhead, Medill Intermediate and Upper; Jeanne Carey, Jones Metro High; Anna Garcia-Berlanga, Juarez High; Eugene Mason, Ashe Elementary; Mable McClendon, Mollison Elementary; and Frances Williams, Powell Elementary. … Connie Thomas, assistant principal of DuBois Elementary, has been named interim principal at Brown Elementary, which is on remediation; the previous principal, Shayle Gerstein, was removed by Chief Executive Officer Paul Vallas. … Randolph Anderson, principal of Sayre Language Academy, has been named interim principal of Revere Elementary; the previous principal, Dean Gufstafson, agreed to a transfer as part of that school’s remediation process.

TV SPECIAL ON INCLUSION “What’s So Special about Special Education?” a documentary by the award-winning Merrow Report, will be broadcast at 11 p.m. May 13 on WTTW-TV. The program follows two disabled students in Denver through a year of inclusion, and covers legal issues, the growth of the special education bureaucracy and as-yet-unpublished research on the effects of special education.

TUTORING WORKSHOPS, DIRECTORY A conference for leaders and volunteers in tutoring and mentoring programs will be held May 17 and 18 in the Behavioral Sciences Building (Morgan and Harrison streets) at the University of Illinois at Chicago. The conference is co-sponsored by Cabrini Connections and the Institute on Disability and Human Development. The fee for both days is $25, but conference scholarships are available. For more information, call (312) 467-2889. … Cabrini Connections also is compiling a directory of after-school tutoring and mentoring programs. To contribute information, contact Daniel Bassill at (312) 467-2889 by mid-June; 4,000 copies of the directory are to be distributed in August to principals, businesses, recruiting sources, potential volunteers and the programs.

LSC CONVENTION The Chicago Association of Local School Councils (CALSC) and AT&T are hosting the second annual LSC Convention on June 7 and 8 at the Bismarck Hotel. Activities will include professional development workshops; a resource expo with exemplary schools, school vendors and free-service providers; and a banquet. To register, call CALSC at (312) 663-1238.

AWARD WINNERS Eight Chicago public high school teachers are winners of the Blum-Kovler Foundation Dedicated Teacher Award given by the University of Chicago. The winners will receive a $300 check. Winners are: Thelma Bond, a science and biology teacher at Curie; Mary Brown, physical education and driver education teacher at Senn; Mary Burns, music teacher at Morgan Park; Eutha Davis, business education teacher at Jones Metro; Dierdre O’Malley, special education teacher at Bogan; Harold Patterson, biology and environmental science teacher at Hye Park; Donald Pittman, physical education teacher and basketball coach, Carver; and Mattie Young, math teacher at Hirsch. … Lenora Deas Akhibi, a kindergarten teacher at Sullivan Elementary, is one of five winners of the Kohl/McCormick Early Childhood Teaching Awards. The award, including a $5,000 prize, is given to teachers in the six-county metropolitan area who work with children between birth and age 8.

CONFLICT RESOLUTION CONFERENCE Sponsored by the Illinois Institute for Dispute Resolution, “Build the Peace: Developing Responsible Citizens, Cooperative Learning Environments and Safe Schools” will be held June 17-19 at the Lisle/Naperville Hilton. Fees: Before June 1, $300 for all three days, $225 for two and $150 for one. For more information, call (217) 384-4118.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.