AT CLARK STREET Avis LaVelle, a seven-year member of the Chicago Board of Education and currently its vice president, has resigned to become a commissioner on the Chicago Cable Commission, pending approval by the Chicago City Council. A replacement has not been named. … Joe McCord, former manager of community relations for the Chicago Park District, is now a citywide administrator for the Department of Local School Council Relations, formerly known as the Office of School & Community Relations; he replaces Erika Delariva, who is now office administrator for the Department of Math & Science.

MOVING IN/ON John Easton, executive director of the Consortium on Chicago School Research, has been appointed to a four-year term on the National Assessment Governing Board, which creates policies for the National Assessment of Educational Progress, also known as “the Nation’s Report Card.” … Jackie Gallagher, former principal lobbyist for the Chicago Teachers Union, was appointed chair of the Illinois Labor Relations Board, replacing Manny Hoffman, who retired. Her position at the CTU has been filled by John Ostenburg, editor of the Chicago Union Teacher. … Brenda Holmes, a former special assistant to the state superintendent of education, has been appointed the first-ever deputy chief of staff for education under Gov. Blagojevich. She will advise the governor on education funding and policy issues, as well as work closely with educators to develop and promote the administration’s education agenda. …

Beverly LaCoste, former principal at Kenwood Academy, has been named executive coordinator for a new group of seven schools in the 4th Ward. LaCoste will work under Area 15 Instructional Officer Virginia Vaske, who oversees all but one of the group’s schools, to improve the schools’ academics and community relations. … Terry Mazany, director and senior program officer for the Chicago Community Trust’s education initiative, was promoted to the newly created position of chief operating officer; a replacement has not been named. … Randi Starr, executive director of The McDougal Family Foundation, will leave at the end of this year; a replacement has not been named.

PRINCIPAL CONTRACTS The following interim principals have been awarded contracts: Therese Connell, Hale; Loretta Dent, Overton; Marilyn LeBoy, Ebinger; Rita Ortiz, Irving. Principals whose contracts have been renewed: David Dalton, Grimes; Suzanne L. Dunaway, Andersen; Gerard A. Gliege, Sawyer.

Principal retirements Richard Kerr, Nash; Enid Collins, a former social worker at the school, is interim principal.

PROPOSED LEGISLATION Lt. Gov. Pat Quinn plans to seek legislative approval of a constitutional amendment next spring that would double the income tax on Illinois’ richest residents, in part to raise money for schools. To get on the November ballot, the proposal would need 60 percent approval from both the House and the Senate. The tax, a 3 percent surcharge on individuals making over $250,000 a year, would generate an estimated $1.2 billion, half of which would go toward public education, according to Quinn.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.