HIGH SCHOOL REFORM CPS has hired Boston Consulting Group and the American Institute for Research to assess the current state of its high schools and develop a 10-year plan to improve them. The assessment is funded by a $2 million grant awarded to the district late last year by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Sources close to the district say another $50 million grant is in the works to support the 10-year initiative. Officials at the district and the foundation declined to comment until the grant is publicly announced.

AT CLARK STREET Two high-profile managers of the Renaissance 2010 initiative have resigned: Lisa Schneider, project manager in CEO Arne Duncan’s office, and Karen Daniels, executive director for the Renaissance region office. Their replacements have not been named. … Karen Boran, formerly manager of high school literacy for CPS, has been hired to take the newly created position of director of research and evaluation for Northeastern Illinois University’s Chicago Teachers Center. … Ruth Moscovitch, general counsel to the Board of Education, has resigned and will relocate to the East Coast. She is succeeded by Patrick Rocks, former first assistant corporation counsel for the City of Chicago Department of Law. … Dorothy Aguirre, director of evening high school programs for CPS, has retired. She is replaced by Elizabeth Ester, formerly assistant executive director of the same program.

MOVING IN/ON Jean Franczyk, vice president of education and guest services at the Museum of Science and Industry, has resigned. Franczyk is moving to London to be with her husband. A replacement has not been named.

PRINCIPAL CONTRACTS Interim principals Antonio Acevedo at Talman and Nancy Apke at Hancock have been awarded contracts. … Eugenia D. Bradfield at Armstrong, Jacqueline A. Baker at Pope and Wilhelmina M. Kenan at Mollison have had their contracts renewed.

AWARD FINALISTS Fifteen Chicago Public Schools teachers are finalists for Golden Apple teaching awards. They are: Kim Brasfield, Carver; Carolyn R. Collins-Maragh, Alcott; Mary E. Carney, Peterson; Catherine A. Conde, Ravenswood; Arlene Garcia, Belmont-Cragin; Craig Johnson, Canty; Tiffany M. King, Peirce; Tracy N. Kwock of KIPP Ascend Charter; Alanna L. Mertens, Norwood Park; Michelle M. Navarre, Harold Washington; Molly K. Reed, Gray; Mathias J. Schergen, Jenner; Elisabeth C. Trost and Barbara A. Walsh, Boone; and Lorianne Zaimi, Sabin Magnet. Winners will receive a free sabbatical at Northwestern University, $2,500 in cash, an Apple computer and induction into the Golden Apple Academy.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.