This story contains corrected material [updated 3:42 p.m. CT, 04/01/04]

AT CLARK STREET Celeste Garrett, former urban affairs editor and reporter for the Chicago Tribune, has been hired as CPS press secretary. Mike Vaughn, former managing editor of Chicago Educator, has been named deputy press secretary. Joi Mecks has been promoted from deputy director of communications to director of marketing, a new post. … Eugene Pajakowski, a manager in the Office of Technology Services, has been promoted to director. He replaces Sharnell Jackson, who is now the chief eLearning officer.

MOVING IN/ON Michelle Boone, former head of the Gallery 37 arts-training program, is now culture program officer at The Joyce Foundation. She replaces Reginald Jones, who is now head of the Steans Family Foundation. … Victor Gonzalez and Eileen Camacho, both of the Chicago Teachers Union, have been promoted. Gonzalez, former assistant to the president for leadership development, replaces Robert Peickert as chief of staff. (Peickert resigned last year.) Camacho, a field representative, is now director of field services and will take over some of Gonzalez’s former duties. … Diana Nelson, former director of public affairs at the Union League Club of Chicago, has been appointed executive director of the Cross City Campaign for Urban School Reform. She replaces Anne Hallett, who plans to work as a consultant on various small schools and community organizing projects.

PRINCIPAL CONTRACTS The following interim principals have been awarded contracts: Crystal Bell, E.F.Young; Shelton Flowers, King Elementary; Stanley Griggs, Owen; Dorothy Thomas, Hyde Park Career Academy; Suzanne Velasquez, Clissold.

The following principals have had their contracts renewed: Mahalia Hines, Hope College Prep; Vivian Hudson-Davis, Mason; Susan Jensen, Finkl.

BOOK CONTRIBUTOR Ken Rolling, national executive director of Parents for Public Schools (PPS) and former head of the Chicago Annenberg Challenge, is co-author of a chapter in “Letters to the Next President: What We Can Do About the Real Crisis in Public Education.” (Teachers College Press, February 2004). The chapter by Rolling and co-author Sandra Halladey calls for more school funding and a role for parents in school decision-making. Halladey is associate director of the San Francisco chapter of PPS.

GOLDEN APPLE FINALISTS Twelve Chicago Public Schools teachers are finalists for Golden Apple teaching awards. They are: Donald Asher, Harper; Jelaine Binford, Curie; Michael Carlson, Kelly; Timothy Devine and Christopher Pellikan, Northside College Prep; Elena Diadenko-Hunter and David McKoski, Clemente; Diego Giraldo, Jones College Prep; William Olsen, Noble Street Charter; Elizabeth Pizza, Brooks College Prep; Jesse Senechal, Kelvyn Park; Lucille Shaw, Chicago High School for Agricultural Sciences. Winners get a $2,500 cash prize, a new computer, free sabbatical training at Northwestern University in the fall and induction into the Golden Apple Academy.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.