Karen Foley has been named CEO of The Hope Institute for Children and Families. Previously, Foley was the president of Chicago Scholars, a mentoring program that supports students from high school through college graduation.  Chicago Scholars board member Steve Wohl, a mentor and a retired partner from the law firm Chapman and Cutler, will serve as interim president.

 Cristina Pacione-Zayas is the new education director at the Latino Policy Forum.  Previously, Pacione-Zayas was the culture of calm coordinator at Roberto Clemente Community Academy. Before that, she was the community schools director at Enlace Chicago. 

 The Chicago Math and Science Academy earned second place in the senior division at the 10th Annual Concept Schools Science and Engineering Fair in Cleveland, Ohio.  In addition, Academy students Cesar Ayala and Safa Slote received gold medals for their environmental science projects; Teliane Bakala and Winifred Obanor received gold medals in physics. Amanda Hyde (zoology), Muhammed Aftab (physics), Milosz Tomaszewski (chemistry), and Ayesha Mirzakhail (botany) won best in their category. Michelle Lopez and Anthony Lazcano received silver medals.  Over 500 students from the Midwest competed. 

 Nine Chicago Public School teachers have been named finalists for Golden Apple Awards for Excellence in Teaching, which this year are recognizing high school teachers:  Scott Galson, Payton College Prep; Joanna Hoglund, Solorio Academy; Elizabeth Copper, Lindblom Math & Science Academy; Katherine Dube, TEAM Englewood Community Academy; Dennis Kass, Infinity Math, Science and Technology High; Sandra Shimon, Prosser Career Academy; Ronald Towns, Fenger Academy; John Lydon, Epic Academy and Ernesto Salvidar, Jones College Prep. There are 32 finalists in all. 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.