James Troupis, principal of Comer College Prep, has received a Ryan Award, which is presented annually by the Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Foundation and Accelerate Institute to recognize “superior leadership in closing the achievement gap.”  It includes a $25,000 honorarium and the opportunity to guest lecture at Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management.  Troupis was one of three recipients to receive the award this year.  The others were from New Orleans and Washington D.C.   

Four Chicago Public Schools teachers have been recognized for being the best in their fields by the Illinois State Board of Education, the Illinois Education Association and the Illinois Federation of Teachers.  They are: Michael Caines, Payton High, mathematics;   Joan Kane, Whitney Young High, economics; Lori Klein-Blazek, Jungman Elementary,  elementary physical education, and Mirsad Spahovic, Roosevelt High, for being a “Star in the Classroom.”  Thirty teachers statewide were recognized for their outstanding performance. The teachers were chosen by their respective professional education organizations:  the Illinois Council of Teachers for Mathematics, the Illinois Council for Economic Education and the Illinois Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance.

The Writers’ Theatre is the recipient of the Al Ward Spirit of Giving Award presented by Communities in Schools of Chicago.  The Glencoe-based group has provided theater and literacy programming to thousands of Chicago public school students since being a community partner in 2007. For example, one production, “The MLK Project”, a one-woman show that follows a teenage girl as she interviews famous Chicago activists about the civil rights movement, has been seen by more than 40,000 CPS students at no costs to students or schools.

Know something that belongs in Comings & Goings? Contact Community Editor Debra Williams: williams@catalyst-chicago.org.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.