MOVING IN/ON Appointed senior program officer in education at The Chicago Community Trust, Terry Mazany is previous associate superintendent for planning and data systems for Southfield Public Schools in suburban Detroit. Anna “Anne” Eleanor Roosevelt has been named to the newly-created position of director of community and education relations at Boeings World Headquarters in Chicago; she previously served as the executive director of the Brain Research Foundation. …Elizabeth Hawthorne is the new dean of the College of Education at National-Louis University. Previously, she was the academic director of a web-based training company in Singapore. Before that, she was an administrator in online course delivery at Penn State University.

AT CLARK STREET The School Board has named Tami Doig director of its Academic Accountability Council. She was previously a early childhood programs consultant for the Chicago Archdiocese, and has worked with mentoring and tutoring efforts in Cabrini-Green. Doig replaces Bruce Marchiafava, who is now assistant director of the Academic Accountability Council. …Beatriz Rendon, previously assistant to the board, was named director of CPS After-School Programs, a new position. Craig Solomon, formerly of the Glenview School District, replaces her as board assistant. …The board created and filled two new positions: Brandi Turco is senior assistant to the board; she was previously the mayor’s liaison to the Chicago Park District. Gregory Minniefield is assistant to the board; he was formerly a park district manager.

PRINCIPAL CONTRACTS The following assistant principals received four-year contracts: Aleen P. Donaldson, Casals; David Gilligan, Chicago Agricultural H.S.; Kathleen Hagstrom, Disney Magnet. Also receiving a contract are Bernita K. Dinwiddie, Edwards, formerly interim principal; Donald Feinstein, Wright Laboratory, former principal at Dett; Rodney Hull, Nicholson, former associate principal at Kohn.

The following principals have had their contracts renewed: Andrea J. Phifer, Dubois; Barbara T. Glapa, Hedges; Judith R. Hernandez, Senn H.S.; Lori A. Lennix, Dolittle International.

PRINCIPAL RETIREMENTS Rolland P. Hinton has retired from Parkman Elementary, and Demetra Kirksey was named interim. She was previously principal of Milton Olive transitional school, which has closed.

SCHOOL FAIRS The Chicago Public Schools will host its annual High School Fair at McCormick Place South in the Lakeside Ballroom on Saturday, Nov. 17 from 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Admission is free. …CPS is a sponsor of a College Fair at Navy Pier on Friday, Oct. 26 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m, and on Saturday Oct. 27 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. CPS administrators will be available to talk to students about how to navigate the college admissions process. Admission is free.

GOLDEN APPLE FOUNDATION The 17th annual Golden Apple Awards has opened nominations for middle school teachers. Every year, 10 Chicago-area teachers are honored for excellence in classroom teaching. For more information or to obtain a nomination form, call (312) 407-0006. The deadline is Dec. 1. …The Golden Apple Scholars of Illinois, a training program for aspiring teachers, has received a $20,000 grant and has been named one of 15 finalists for the Innovations in American Government Award. Five winners, to be announced on Oct. 17, will receive an additional $100,000.

ANNUAL MEETING Parents United for Responsible Education (PURE) will host its annual membership meeting on Oct. 4, from 5:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. at Benito Juarez High School, 2150 S. Laflin. Schools CEO Arne Duncan is the keynote speaker. The meeting, which is open to the public, will be followed by PURE’s 5th annual Elsie Award for outstanding LSC service.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.