AT PERSHING ROAD John J. Maiorca, first deputy director of the city’s Department of Revenue, has been named budget director; he is the third person to hold that job since the Reform Board took office in July 1995. Salary: $99,500. … Dion Smith, formerly senior assistant to Reform Board President Gery Chico, has been named chief of staff for the operations department. Salary: $92,000. … Karen Carlson, a former principal who worked at Leadership for Quality Education, is now the director of the Chicago Academic Accountability Council.

MOVING IN/ON Victoria Chou has been appointed dean of the University of Illinois at Chicago’s College of Education, succeeding Larry Braskamp, who has returned to teaching. … Dany Fleming, previously director of information systems at the Hull House Association, joins Leadership for Quality Education, where he will work with the Financial Research and Advisory Committee (FRAC) on its principal assessment center and LSC training in principal selection. Maureen Meissner has left FRAC to take a job at the Tribune Company. … Linda H. Ford, principal of Brownell Elementary, has become the coordinator of the Principal Leadership Initiative of the University of Chicago’s Center for School Improvement.

INTERIM PRINCIPALS John A. Butterfield, assistant principal at Mather High, is now interim principal, following the retirement of Arthur Cervinka. Michele Barton, assistant principal at Metcalfe Community Academy, is now interim principal. Elba M. Iniguez, a teacher at Kanoon Magnet School, is now interim principal at Davis Elementary. Barbara Roberts, a teacher at Carpenter Elementary, is now interim principal. George Huff, assistant principal at Brownell Elementary, is now interim principal. Edith Sims, former principal of Corliss High, is now interim principal at Julian High, succeeding Willie Crittendon, who retired. Lori A. Lennix, guidance counselor at Doolittle East, is now principal, succeeding Elisha W. Walker, who retired.

NATIONAL CERTIFICATION Marcia Regan, a 4th-grade teacher at Disney Magnet School, has become the first Chicago teacher to be certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, an independent, voluntary program aimed at upgrading instruction nationwide.

UNION POLITICS Deborah Walsh, the Marquette Elementary teacher who ran unsuccessfully for president of the Chicago Teachers Union in 1996, has kicked off her second campaign for the union presidency with a slickly-produced tract titled “An Open Letter to Paul Vallas from a Chicago Teacher.” Elections are scheduled for May 1998; Walsh took 28 percent of the vote in the last elections.

PRINCIPAL PARTNERSHIP The following are members of the management committee of the Partnership to Encourage the Next Century’s Urban Leaders. The partnership is overseeing development of the Chicago Principal Assessment Center, principal selection training for local school councils and principal recruitment. Cheryl A. Aaron, Wood Elementary Local School Council; Carlos M. Azcoitia, CPS deputy chief education officer; Albert Bertani, Center for School Improvement, University of Chicago; Cozette Buckney, CPS chief education officer; Les Fant, principal, Goodlow Magnet; Wanda J. Hopkins, Lewis Elementary Local School Council; Leon Jackson, president, MULTI-FAC Corp.; Richard Morrow, retired chairman and CEO, Amoco Corp.; Eric Outten, Hirsch High and Burnside Elementary local school councils; Dion Miller Perez, Neighborhood Capital Budget Group, Finkl Elementary Local School Council.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.