MOVING IN/ON Barbara J. Eason-Watkins, principal of McCosh Elementary School, will be temporarily serving half-time at McCosh and half-time as director of Professional Development Schools for the University of Chicago Center for School Improvement. Mary Rodgers will serve as associate principal for McCosh for the duration of the project. … Dion Miller Perez has left his position as schools organizer for the Neighborhood Capital Budget Group to serve as Chicago co-ordinator at Cross-City Campaign for Urban School Reform. He is replacing David Young, who has left to pursue his own business. Replacing Perez at NCBG is Andrea Lee, a recent University of Michigan graduate. … Sandra Jackson has been named acting dean of the School of Education at DePaul University. Jackson previously served as director of the Center for Culture and History of Black Diaspora at DePaul as well as associate professor in DePaul’s School of Education. She is replacing Quintin Vargas, who has been promoted to associate vice president for academic affairs. … Jean Franczyk has been appointed vice president of education at the Museum of Science and Industry, a new position. Formerly chief of staff to the School Board and assistant to Mayor Richard M. Daley, Franczyk left the Board a year ago to run faculty training programs for, a distance learning company.

AT CLARK STREET The School Board approved the election and appointment of 15 members to the Local School Council Advisory Board. The following new members will serve two-year terms: Chairman Thomas Gray, community representative, Douglas Community Academy; Aaron Kaiser, parent, Northside College Prep; Emma Lozano, community representative, Lozano Bilingual and International; Geneva Harris, parent, Spaulding High; Micaela Rico, parent, Farragut Career Academy; Alfred Rodgers, community representative, Morrill Elementary and Gage Park High; July Marvin, teacher, DuBois; Julia Sanchez, parent, Northside Learning Center; Renaud Beaudoin, principal, Newberry Magnet; Betty Smith, parent, Medill; Juanita Esparza, parent, Pilsen Community Academy; Ruby Chan, community representative, Mark Sheridan Magnet; Gertrude Muhammad, parent, McCosh Elementary; Mary Zeronas, principal, Cassell Elementary; and Frank Bell, community representative, Owens Elementary.

NEW BUILDINGS CPS has chosen the winners of its school design competition. KoningEizenberg Architecture from Santa Monica, CA submitted the winning design for a new school in Irving Park on the north side, and the Board will use the design from New York-based MarbleFairbanks Architects to build a school in Roseland on the south side. Two sites have been selected and construction will begin once funding is secured. …Southside College Prep will become the Gwendolyn Brooks College Prep in honor of the Illinois Poet Laureate who died last year.

PRINCIPAL CONTRACTS The Board has approved a contract for Jacqueline A. Baker, interim principal at Pope, to become principal. … Former Proctor Principal John S. Potocki is the new principal at Clay Elementary. … Stephen Flisk, formerly of the Region 3 office, has been appointed principal of Walsh Elementary. … The Board also renewed contracts for Frederic Arana, Little Village; Joe Easterling-Hood, McDowell; and Dr. Louise Eggert, Lara Academy.

PRINCIPAL RETIREMENTS Janice Todd, principal of Lincoln Park High School for the past eight years, is retiring. Harper elementary principal Nathaniel Mason will succeed her July 1. … Pherese McManamon has retired as principal of Peterson elementary after 18 years. Replacing her is Joseph G. Kallas, former assistant principal of Mather.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.