MOVING IN/ON Armando Almendarez, Region 2 education officer, has been named chief of the Department of Language and Cultural Education, replacing Alice Perez Peters, who was named deputy chief accountability officer. Domingo Trujillo, principal of Whitney Elementary, succeeds Almendarez in Region 2. … Jean Franczyk has been named chief of staff to the Reform Board, replacing Robert Markin, who resigned. Franczyk previously served as chief assistant on education issues to Mayor Richard M. Daley, a senior staff associate at The Chicago Community Trust and a reporter at both the Miami Herald and The Chicago Reporter. Salary: $110,000. … Bill McKersie, a former education program officer at The Joyce Foundation who just completed his PhD at the University of Chicago, has been appointed senior program officer for education at The Cleveland Foundation in Ohio.

PRINCIPALS The following have been named interim principals. Ivette Robles, assistant principal at Burns, Davis. Patricia Walsh, Office of Accountability administrator, Overton. Daisy Bell, teacher at Corliss High, Hirsch High. Thomas Brown, assistant principal at Taft High, Taft. Sherman Chambers, assistant principal at Reavis, Reavis. Delores Evans, assistant principal at Randolph Magnet, Reed.

McKAY ACCREDITATION The preschool program at McKay Elementary has been granted accreditation by the National Association for the Education of Young Children. Of the school system’s 326 preschool sites, 37 have NAEYC accreditation. Nationally, recognition has only been granted to about only 5 percent of early childhood programs—some 4,600 programs as of March 1997.

SMALL SCHOOLS “From Dream to Reality: Three Chicago Small Schools,” a booklet examining the creation and operation of Best Practice, Connections and Telpochcalli small schools, is available from the Small Schools Coalition, LQE, One First Natonal Plaza, Suite 3120, Chicago, IL, 60602. Phone: (312) 853-1216. The author, Ben Joravsky, is a staff writer at the Chicago Reader and author of “Hoop Dreams” and “Race and Politics in Chicago.”

AWARD NOMINATIONS Nov. 17 is the deadline for nominations for the School Leadership Awards for Outstanding Principals, sponsored by the Chicago Public Schools, the Chicago Principals and Administrators Association (CPAA), and LaSalle National Bank. Winners receive $5,000. For information, call CPAA at (312) 263-7767. … Dec. 1 is the deadline for nominations for the 13th annual Golden Apple Awards for Excellence in Teaching, which this year will honor high school teachers. For information, call the Golden Apple Foundation at (312) 407-0006.

LSC CONFERENCE The Chicago Public Schools and the Illinois Association of School Boards are offering a training conference for LSC members on Nov. 17 at the Fairmont Hotel. LSC chairs or their designees can earn 6 hours of training credit; topics include parliamentary procedure, tort liability and grassroots organizing. There are 500 spots available. Registration costs $100 per person and can be paid from the LSC training budget. For a registration form, call the CPS Office of School/Community Relations at (773) 535-5966.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.