MOVING IN/ON James Lewis, vice president for Research and Planning at the Chicago Urban League, is moving to Roosevelt University as director of the Institute for Metropolitan Affairs. … Carolyn Cyriaque, a 1996 Golden Apple fellow who taught at Coles Elementary, has been hired as director of Golden Apple Teacher Scholars, a program that recruits high school students to become teachers. She will work with the scholars in their first teaching assignments. … DePaul University has named Quintin Vargas, previously an associate professor at the University of Texas at San Antonio, as its new dean of education. Vargas succeeds Gayle Mindes, who has been acting dean since Barbara Sizemore retired last summer. … Natividad Hernandez, immigration coordinator for the United Neighborhood Organization, is the new chair of the citywide Multilingual Parents Council, serving a one-year term.

AT CLARK STREET Toni Hill was named manager of recruitment in the Department of Human Resources. Hill held a similar post at Motorola. … Wilfredo Ortiz, principal of Curie High School, was promoted to the newly-created position of chief of high school development. Ortiz will report to Powhatan Collins, director of high school organization. … Several members of the school leadership team moved over to the Chicago Housing Authority over the summer. Phillip Jackson, chief of staff to Paul Vallas, was named executive director. David Agazzi, former CPS budget director, was named chief financial officer. Former Reform Board member Sharon Gist Gilliam was named board chair. Diane Grigsby Jackson, deputy chief of staff for Vallas, moved up into the school post Jackson left.

ELECTION 2000 Community organizers are getting a head start on planning next year’s local school council election in April. Idida Perez of West Town Leadership Project and Janet McFarlane of Rainbow/Push are co-chairs of the organizing committee. Dany Fleming of Leadership for Quality Education is convening a business partnership committee. Joe Burnett of Schools First and the Rev. Zarina Suarez O’Hagin of the Lawyers’ School Advisory Project are co-chairs of the training committee. The work is being done under the auspices of the Chicago School Leadership Cooperative.

PRINCIPALS Judith Kandalec, formerly the assistant principal at Sherman Elementary, has been appointed interim principal. … Assistant principals Curtis R. Murphy of Carver High and Beth M. Sagett of Alcott Elementary have been appointed contract principals. Interim principals Yvette R. Curington of Goldblatt Elementary and Irene Milka Damota of Clemente High have received four-year contracts. … The following high school principals had their contracts renewed: Alejandra Alvarez, Bowen; Lona C. Bibbs, Westinghouse; John E. Everett, Simeon; Essie M. Lucas, Tilden; and Melver L. Scott, Crane.

The following elementary school principals had their contracts renewed: Patricia A. Bauldrick, Bontemps; Renaud Beaudoin, Newberry; Alan L. Berger, McKay; Myron M. Berger, Near North Special Education Center; Charlotte A. Blackman, Chalmers; Mary M. Burke, Turner-Drew Lang.; Myrtle K. Burton-Sahara, Locke; Eduardo Cadavid, Cooper; Camille E. Chase, McPherson; Emmerine A. Clarkston, Evers; Ethel J. Collier, Burnside; Isabel Mesa-Collins, Drummond; Joanne H. Davis, Armour; Barbara J. Ellis, Bennett/Shedd; Warren R. Franczyk, Bethune; Donald Fumo, Moos/Rocha; Inez G. Garber, McCutcheon; John J. Garvey, Foreman; and Sandra A. Givens, Spencer.

Also, Diane K. Grissett, Gompers; Robert A. Guercio, Bell; John F. Hawkins, Woodson South; Leon Hudnall, Jr., Morse; Georgia C. Hudson, Lathrop; Ronald A. James, Avondale; Karen L. Kerr, Bond; Richard D. Kerr, Nash; Nancy L. Laho, Burley; Noel A. LeVeaux, Mason; Nora J. Malloy, Frazier; Bonnie Marshall, Reed; Freddie McGee, Ross/Cockrell Child Parent Center; Therese McManamon, Peterson; Kenneth R. Millar, Dever; Janice Preston, Ryder; John P. Reilly, Portage Park; Ida G. Simmons, Deneen; Betty F. Smith, Douglass Middle; Cecilia M. Smith, Kohn; Peter D. Smith, Neil; Victor Tocwish, Bright; Gail D. Ward, Agassiz; and Paul Zavitkovsky, Boone.

NEW NAMES Bryn Mawr Elementary School has been renamed the Dr. Edward Alexander Bouchet Math and Science Academy. …The Chicago Public Schools academic transition centers are now academic preparatory centers named for leading local citizens. Transition A is now William E. Rodriguez; Transition B, Carmel B. Harvey Jr.; Transition C, Milton Lee Olive III; Transition D, John H. Sengstacke; Transition E, Charles A. Hayes; Transition F, Irene C. Hernandez; Transition G, Dr. Samuel D. Proctor; Transition H, Thomas A. Dorsey; Transition I, Cecil A. Partee.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.