MOVING IN/ON Fred Hess, executive director of the Chicago Panel on School Policy for the past 13 years, has resigned to join the faculty of Northwestern University, where he will be a research professor in the School of Social Policy and Education. Assistant Director Barbara Buell is serving as acting executive director. … Matthew Pickering, an executive with EVEREN Securities, has become executive director of WITS (Working in the Schools), replacing Maxine Duster. EVEREN was one of the first corporations to partner with WITS, setting up a program that gives employees time off to tutor Chicago public school students. … William L. Roberts, past chair of the Lindblom High LSC, has been elected board chair of the Chicago Association of Local School Councils. Roberts was a Tuskeegee Airman.

HIGH SCHOOL REORGANIZATION Created just last year, the Department of High School Services and Support has been reorganized. Now called the Unit of High School Reorganization, it continues under the direction of Powhatan Collins. … Jacqueline Simmons, assistant to Collins, has retired. … Beverly LaCoste, principal of Kenwood High, is the new director of high school restructuring, replacing Tam Hill, who returned to Calumet High as principal. … Linda Layne, who headed up articulation, is now director of the new College Bridge Program.

Three high school departments have been relocated. Alternative Schools is now in Specialized Services under Sue Gamm; its director, Ron Beavers, now heads up Truancy Prevention, which has been placed in the Department of Investigations. … Physical Development and Health is now in School Leadership and Development under Lula Ford; J. W. Smith remains department director. … Vocational and Technical Education is now in Schools and Regions under Blondean Davis; Diane Grigsby-Jackson, who previously worked for the city, is the new director, replacing Charles Vietzen, who has returned to Hubbard High as principal.

PROMOTIONS, DEPARTURES Christine Hoagland, first deputy budget director, has replaced David Agazzi as budget director. Salary: $93,000. Agazzi resigned to become director of financial planning for the city of Portland, Ore. … Robert Markin, former chief attorney, is now chief of staff for the Reform Board. Salary: $110,000. Marilyn Johnson, first assistant attorney, succeeds Markin as chief attorney. Salary: $110,000. Kathyrn Nelson, director of labor relations, has replaced Johnson as first assistant attorney. Salary: $93,000. … Ann Carlson Weeks, executive director of the Association for Library Services to Children at the American Library Association, is director of Library and Information Services, a new post. … Former subdistrict superintendents Joan Ferris and Jim Maloney are now consultants in the Office of Regions and Schools. … Rudy Lubov, principal at Bateman Elementary, will head up the system’s literacy program.

PRINCIPALS The following interim, acting and assistant principals have received principal contracts: George Whitley, LeMoyne; Helen Craft, Yale; Elizabeth Elizondo, Finkl; Kathryn Ruffalo, Sullivan High; Millicent Russell, Van Vlissingen; Julius Anderson, C. Hughes; Flora Dangerfield, Gary; Cynthia Fitzpatrick, Schiller; Mahalia Hines, Hope; Terry Mandujano, McAuliffe; Gladys Pruitt, Lewis; Dorothy Walton-Jarrett, Sayre Language. … Wilfredo Ortiz, principal of Lowell Elementary, has become principal of Curie High, replacing Walter Pilditch, who is now working in the Office of Accountability. Julio Cruz, assistant principal at Darwin, succeeds Ortiz at Lowell. … Patricia Kent, assistant principal at Hefferan, is now principal at Penn. … James Conway, assistant principal at Kenwood High, is now principal at Sutherland. … Linda Cole, assistant principal at Poe Classical, is now principal at Keller Gifted Center. … Charles Trevino, facilitator in Region 6, is now principal of J.N. Thorp.

PRINCIPAL CONTRACTS RENEWED Aurelio Acevedo, Lozano; Deborah Anderson, Christopher; Yvonne Austin, Plamondon; Jose Barillas, Marshall Middle; Beverly Blackwood, Douglas Community Academy; Ervin Bond, Fernwood; Christine Clayton, Senn Academy; Betty Despenza-Green, Chicago Vocational; Cynthia Felton, Orr High; Charles Giglio, Linne; Charlotte Gray, Dumas; Chris Kotis, Beaubien; James Norris, Park Manor; Mary Nyhan, Arts of Living; Elena O’Connell, Corkery; Robert Pales, Henson; Julius Patterson, Drake; Tomas Revollo, Waters; Marcey Reyes, Seward; Jack Rocklin, Cleveland; Alice Rucker, Marconi; Sheila Schlaggar, Edison Gifted; Allan Singer, Durso; Gail Szulc, Oriole Park; Craig Williams, Oglesby; Debrona Banks, Tilton.

NEW ADDRESSES The Region l office has moved from Norwood Elementary to the Avondale Office Center, 6323 N. Avondale, on the 2nd floor. (312) 534-1100. … The Region 4 office has moved from the former Oakenwald School to the Illinois Institute of Technology Research Institute on the 10th floor. (312) 535-1070.

TEACHER GRANTS Sept. 30 is the deadline for elementary teachers in the Chicago public schools to apply for small grants (up to $400) from the Chicago Foundation for Education. Application packets are being sent to all elementary principals; applications should be mailed to the foundation, 400 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611. Phone: (312) 670-2323.

YOUTH RIGHTS Youth and Society: Rights and Responsibilities, a book on laws, rules and regulations that apply to people under age 18 in Illinois, is available from the Constitutional Rights Foundation of Chicago. Cost: $2.50 plus shipping and handling. To order, contact the foundation, 407 S. Dearborn, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL, 60605. Phone: (312) 663-9057. Fax: (312) 633-4321.

GOLDEN APPLE Dec. 2 is the deadline for submission of nominations for the 12th Annual Golden Apple Awards, this year recognizing teachers in preschool through 5th grade. To obtain a nomination form, contact the foundation, 8 S. Michigan Ave., Suite 700, Chicago, Il. 60603-3318. Phone: (312) 407-0006.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.