NEW SCHOOLS STAFF With 21 more schools slated to open this fall, the Office of New Schools is adding staff. Catherine Sugrue, formerly management support director for Area 1, takes over as Director of School Support, replacing Beatriz Rendon, who left the district to become CEO of Educational Support Services for the Tucson, Ariz., Unified School District. Cybill Ortiz, formerly a special education teacher at Spry, is the new support coordinator for performance and contract schools. Romeldia Salter, formerly deputy director of City Year (a community service program for young people) is the new support coordinator for charter schools. Broad Fellow Diana Matthews moved from Management and Budget to the Office of New Schools as the district’s first director of Performance, Turnaround and Professional Development School Policy. Marisa Velasquez, formerly assistant principal at Farragut, now is school support coordinator for Turnaround, Professional Development and Performance Schools. She replaces Tabatha Koylass, who now is working on turnaround schools in the Chief Education Office. Amanda Knight, formerly director of planning and development for the Office of New Schools is now with the Chicago office of Resources for Indispensable Schools and Educators (RISE), a national nonprofit focused on teacher retention.

MOVING ON Mildred Ebietomiye, a former Kohl McCormick Early Childhood Teaching Award winner, is the new Director of Education for the Dolores Kohl Education Foundation. Ebietomiye was previously with the Ounce of Prevention Fund Educare Center, where she was a lead and master teacher. Ebietomiye takes over from Debbie Appelbaum, who has relocated out of town. … Tony Bryk, a Stanford University education professor and former director of the Center for Urban School Improvement at the University of Chicago, will become president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching in August.

AT CLARK STREET Jose Alvarez, formerly a special assistant to Arne Duncan, is now the district’s director of LSC and community relations. Carole Wood, who held the position on an interim basis, now is senior assistant to the school board.

SEEKING TAC MEMBERS The district is forming Transition Advisory Councils to help open new schools. Those interested in serving on TACs should contact Brenda Bell in the Office of New Schools, (773) 553-1538.

PRINCIPAL CONTRACTS Interim principals Elisabeth Heurtefeu of LaSalle and Lucille Very of Near North have been awarded full contracts. Cara Diggs of Whistler, Stanley Griggs of Owen, Darlene Reynolds of West Pullman and Joyce Kenner of Whitney Young had their contracts renewed.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.