Barbara Bowman,chief officer for early childhood education, has retired after eight years at CPS. Bowman was a leader in developing the federal Head Start program and a co-founder of the Erikson Institute, a renowned graduate school in early childhood education.

Melissa Zaikos, chief of the Pershing Elementary Network, has resigned to apply for a charter to open a new school in 2013. “I have become more and more convinced that it is possible to meld exceptional teaching with adaptive technologies to create rich, individualized learning experiences for students of all backgrounds,” she says.

New CPS principals: Kenneth Fitzner, formerly the assistant principal at Oriole Park, is now principal of Audubon Elementary; Renee Mackin, an interim principal at Linne is now the school’s contract principal, and Donica Glass, a former instruction specialist in Area 6, has been named principal at Solomon Elementary. Solomon’s current principal Susan Moy is retiring at the end of this school year.

Consuella Brown, program director and acting president of the Woods Fund of Chicago for the last year, has resigned.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.