Four CPS educators have been named recipients of the 2009 Kohl McCormick Early Childhood Teaching Award for teachers who work with children from preschool through 3rd grade in the Chicago metropolitan area. This year’s winners are: Dayna Darby, a preschool teacher at Talcott Fine Arts; Elizabeth Gross, a 2nd-grade teacher at Legacy Charter School; Camia Hoard, a 1st-grade teacher at Frazier Preparatory; and Lourdes Molina, a preschool teacher at the Belmont-Cragin Early Childhood Center. (Patricia Twymon, a home care provider at Wee are the World Day Care in Calumet City, was also a winner.) The finalists were selected from among 200 nominees and will be inducted into the Kohl McCormick Academy of Outstanding Educators. They will also receive a classroom visit from the Kohl’s StoryBus, a museum on wheels; a classroom field trip and professional development from the Kohl Children’s Museum; a graduate-level course at Chicago’s Erikson Institute; and a $5,000 cash prize. Their school will receive a $1,000 prize. The winners will be honored at a luncheon on June 2 at the Westin Chicago River North.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.