Finalists for early childhood award

Print More

Thirteen CPS teachers are finalists for the 2009 Kohl McCormick Early Childhood Teaching Award, given to outstanding educators who work in preschool through 3rd-grade classrooms in the metropolitan Chicago area. Five winners will be chosen from among the 19 finalists; the winners will be announced in April and honored at a luncheon in June. Winners will receive a $5,000 cash award; $1,000 cash for their school; professional development, including a free graduate course at the Erikson Institute; and a classroom field trip to the Kohl Children’s Museum. The CPS teachers who made the finalist list are: Dayna Darby, Talcott; Alejandra De La Pena, Lloyd; Arinda Feiwell and Sabrina Silverstein, de Dominguez; Nicole Gaynor, Harte; Elizabeth Goss, Legacy Charter; Petrina Haynes, Poe; Camia Hoard, Frazier; Jenna Jung, Oriole Park; Donna Kaufman, Alcott; Lourdes Molina, Belmont-Cragin Early Childhood Center; Karen Sebaka, Telpochcalli; and Xiaodong Zhang, James Ward. The award is given by the Dolores Kohl Education Foundation and the McCormick Foundation.