AT CLARK STREET James Wright of the CPS law department has been named chief of staff to Board President Gery Chico. Wright replaces Jean Franczyk, who now works for internet education company Wright previously worked for the U.S. Justice Department. … Tabrina Davis, formerly CPS deputy chief communications officer, is now the director of media relations for ComEd.

MOVING IN/ON Margaret Small, former director of UIC’s Interactive Mathematics Project, has been named co-director of the Young Women’s Leadership Charter School. The other co-director is Mary Ann Pitcher, a teacher from Harper High. … Kay Kirkpatrick, formerly director of communications at the Consortium on Chicago School Research, has been named assistant dean for strategic communications for the School of Social Service Administration at the University of Chicago.

PRINCIPAL APPOINTMENTS The following school principals have had their contracts renewed: Aurelio Acevedo, Lozano; Deborah Anderson, Christopher; Julius Anderson, Hughes; Jose C. Barillas, Marshall; Beverly J. Blackwood, Douglas; Valerie Jean Bratton, Wacker; Flora Dangerfield, Gary; Cara L. Diggs, Whistler; Cynthia Fitzpatrick, Schiller; Richard A. Gazda, Von Steuben; Carol Rancifer Gearring, Hendricks; Charles A. Giglio, Linne; Mahalia A. Hines, Hope; Patricia Kent, Penn; Millicent Russell, Lavizzo; Gail W. Szulc, Oriole; Sheila Schlaggar, Edison; Arthur Slater, Austin; Careda Taylor, Kenwood; Charles Trevino, Thorp; Frances M. Williams, Powell.

The following interim and assistant principals received contracts: Sharon Bryant, Spencer; Frank Candioto, Foreman; David Dalton, Grimes/Fleming; Vivian Edwards, Schneider; Keith P. Foley, Lane Tech; Larry C. Garstki, Brentano; Gerard A. Gliege, Sawyer; Mary Ellen Garcia-Humphreys, Carson; Susan Jensen, Gary; Jill Marie Machina, Alcott; Rebecca B. McDaniel, Hinton; Lawrence McElherne, Las Casas; Sylvia A. Rodriguez, Davis; Patricia Monroe-Taylor, Arai; Miguel A. Velasquez, Whitney.

RETIREMENTS Principals who retired this summer where: Carrie J. Clark, Carver; Howard Jackson, Dewey; Elena S. O’Connell, Corkery; Mary E. Scannell, Kellogg.

SCHOOL EXPANSIONS The board approved a $1.65 million expansion for Jones Metropolitan High. The structure will be built to the south of the school on State Street. Two other schools moved ahead with expansion plans. Goudy Elementary will receive $395,000 to acquire property for its expansion, and Kelly High will buy a $295,000 lot for its addition.

FLOWER’S FUTURE The School Board approved a plan to split Flower Career Academy into two schools housed in the same building. The Hernandez Academic Preparatory Center will accept low-scoring students who are too old to be retained in 8th grade. The transition center will be based on the third floor. Flower will continue its vocational education program, though the program will not accept freshmen this fall. Eighty-six freshmen who applied to Flower last year will be enrolled at nearby Westinghouse High.

HONORS Marvin Garcia, director of the Dr. Pedro Albizu Campos High School, an alternative school in Humboldt Park, has been selected as The Chicago Community Trust 2000 Community Service Fellow. Garcia will receive a stipend of up to $100,000 as he takes a one-year leave from his job to pursue professional and personal growth. Garcia plans to spend his fellowship researching alternative school practices that promote student retention and academic achievement for at-risk youth.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.